Six Consequences of a DUI Conviction in Georgia
DUIs are misdemeanors. But a DUI is still a serious criminal charge in Georgia.
Columbus Georgia Criminal Defense Attorney Mark Jones can help you defeat your DUI charge or mitigate the consequences of your DUI conviction.
Six possible consequences of a DUI conviction are:
1. License Suspension for 12 Months on Conviction
OCGA § 40-5-63, OCGA § 40-5-67.1, and OCGA § 40-5-75 outline the license suspension process for someone convicted of a DUI (alcohol and drugs). If you are convicted of a DUI, you will face a lengthy license suspension for twelve months.
2. Repeat Offender:
Repeat offenders are treated significantly harsher. You will have to undergo a substance abuse evaluation aka “DUI school.” Ironically, you will also get a red stripe on your license. If you obtain a permit, you’ll be driving with an interlock ignition device. You also have to surrender your car tags. Depending on whether you take a chemical test and the number of your conviction, your license could be suspended for up to 5 years.
3. Jail Time
First offense: 24 hours minimum / 1 year max
Second offense: 3 days minimum / 1 year max
Third offense; 15 days minimum (could be charged as a felony)
First offense: $300.00 – $1,000.00
Second offense: $600.00 – $1,000.00
First offense: 40 hours minimum
Second offense: 30 days minimum
6. DUI School
In line with what was mentioned above about repeat offenders, DUI school is mandatory upon a second conviction for DUI.
[schema type=”organization” orgtype=”Corporation” url=”www.LawyerMarkJones.Com” name=”Law Offices of Mark P. Jones” description=”Columbus Ga Lawyer Mark Jones” street=”233 12th Street #613″ city=”Columbus” state=”Georgia” postalcode=”31901″ country=”United States” email=”firstname.lastname@example.org” phone=”706-225-2555″ fax=”706-225-2556″ ]